Cross Currents Home
Resources | About Us | 日本語サイト
Home Learn About Japan Learn About Japan-U.S. Cross Currents Learn About the U.S.

A pen lying on top of income tax forms.
Work Year
  1. Daylight Savings Time
  2. Income Tax Day (April 15)
  3. Take our Daughters and Sons to Work Day
  4. Secretary’s Day (Last Wednesday in April)
  5. National Boss Day (October 16)
  6. Office Christmas Parties
Listen in English English | Japanese Japanese View Article in English | Japanese
US map showing time zones
The United States is divided into six time zones.
Map Courtesy of
Daylight Savings Time
Daylight Saving is a system of setting clocks one or two hours ahead so that both sunrise and sunset occur at a later hour. As a result, this system produces an additional period of daylight in the evening. Daylight saving time created some problems. American farmers strongly protested the system because it did not match their schedules, which are dictated by the sun. Also, because there were differences in the way various U.S. states, cities, and local areas followed the system, it was difficult to coordinate plane, train, and bus schedules. In 1966, the U.S. Congress passed legislation setting uniform daylight saving time within each U.S. time zone. The only exceptions were states that voted to keep the entire state on standard time. The U.S. time zones are the Atlantic, Eastern, Central, Mountain, Pacific, Alaska, Hawaii-Aleutian, and Samoa zones. Daylight saving time now begins at 2 am on the first Sunday of April and ends on 2 am on the last Sunday of October. Some people memorize the saying “Spring Forward, Fall Back” to remind themselves to set their clocks forward in the spring and back in the fall.
Download Podcast in English | Japanese
Document | Audio-Video | Chart | Picture | Map