Cross Currents Home
Resources | About Us | 日本語サイト
Home Learn About Japan Learn About Japan-U.S. Cross Currents Learn About the U.S.

A posed photo of two white women and a black man in a suit.
  1. Social Security and Retirement
  2. Retirement Age and Social Security
  3. Working at Home
  4. Longer Years of Retirement
  5. Employment trends
  6. Foreign workers in the United States
  7. Mexican Workers in the United States
  8. Workplace Safety Standards
  9. Work-related Injuries and Deaths
  10. Growth of Large Corporate Farming
  11. Union Membership Across the United States
  12. Laws Regarding Working Women
  13. Labor Contracts in the United States
  14. Right-to-Work Laws
  15. Public worker unions in the United States
  16. Unemployment insurance
  17. Equal Opportunity Employment Laws
  18. Workers’ Compensation
  19. Minimum Age for Agricultural Employment
  20. Minors in the Workplace
  21. Minimum Wage
  22. Employment of Persons with Disabilities
  23. Major Equal Employment Legislation in the U.S.
  24. Employment in the Service Sector
  25. Unemployment
  26. State’s Unique Worker’s Compensation Laws
  27. Life on Unemployment
  28. Minimum Wage and Poverty
Listen in English English | Japanese Japanese View Article in English | Japanese
President Bush sign bill while others look on
President Bush signs the Americans with Disabilities Act in July 1990.
Photo Courtesy of the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum.
Major Equal Employment Legislation in the U.S.
Many different laws have been passed in the United States to help prevent employment discrimination. This legislation includes: 1) the Equal Pay Act (1963), which protects men and women who perform the same work in the same establishment from sex-based pay discrimination; 2) the Civil Rights Act (1964), which forbids employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin; 3) the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (1967), which protects individuals who are 40 years of age or older from age discrimination; 4) The Rehabilitation Act (1973), which prohibits discrimination against qualified individuals with disabilities who work in the federal government; 5) the American with Disabilities Act (1990) (ADA), which prohibits employment discrimination against qualified individuals with disabilities in the private sector and in state and local governments; and 6) the Civil Rights Act (1991), which provides monetary damages in case of intentional employment discrimination.
Special Terms: international

Download Podcast in English | Japanese
Document | Audio-Video | Chart | Picture | Map